Ever Wonder Why…

I don’t know about any of you, but every once in a while I am HUNGRY all day long.  No matter what I eat, I am not satisfied.  I know for sure that FOOD is on my mind all the time.  What can I have?  Do I feel like taking the time to make something healthy and filling, or am I going to be lazy and find something that is simple to grab, yet not filling or satisfying enough? 

I know you are all thinking that if I planned my meals better, this wouldn’t happen.  Well, it’s not always easy “Planning”.  Going to the store for all the ingredients, and then spending the day in the kitchen cooking or prepping for meals for the week.  It is especially difficult, when I am the only one who is going to eat the food that is prepared.

Enough already.  Will someone please help me make a plan.  It can’t be to time- consuming. Give me some simple, less than 5 ingredient meal ideas.  I’ll plan and prep on Sunday and cook one meal on Tuesday, Wed, and Thursday nights.  I need three great meals … Come on help a girl out will ya.

For dinner I decided to make my version of chicken enchiladas with the left over chicken I cooked yesterday when I made chicken Cesar salad for the fam.  It does have a lot of ingredients, but I wanted to see if I could make a Lighter version.  So here goes and I made this for me only!!!!!

The Lighter Side Creamy Chicken Enchiladas  

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil (2 PP)
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion 1 chopped garlic clove
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper
  • 2 tablespoons Wondra *(1 PP)
  • 1/4 cup Fage yogurt (1 PP)
  • 3 oz cooked chicken breast, shredded (3 PP)
  • 1/4 cup TJ’s Lite Mexican blend cheese (2 PP)
  • 1/4 cup pico de gallo
  • 1 tablespoon chopped cilantro
  • 3 La Tortilla Factory White Corn tortillas (6 PP)
  • 2 tablespoons chopped green onion

*Note – Wondra is used for making gravy or sauces

Heat oil over medium heat. Add onion and garlic; cook 3 to 4 minutes, stirring occasionally, until onion is tender. In medium bowl, stir broth, Wondra, and pepper with wire whisk until blended. Slowly add to hot mixture in skillet, stirring constantly. Cook and stir 5 to 6 minutes, until mixture boils and thickens slightly. Remove from heat. Stir in yogurt until well blended.

adding the fage yogurt

In another medium bowl, mix chicken,  1/2 of the cheese, cilantro and 1/2  of the sauce. Place 2 tortillas on microwavable plate; cover with paper towel. Microwave on High 10 to 15 seconds or until softened. Spoon about 1/3 cup chicken mixture down center of each warm tortilla. Roll up tortillas; arrange, seam sides down, in baking dish. Top enchiladas with remaining sauce. Cover with foil.

Filling The Tortilla
Ready to Pop in the Oven

Bake at 350 for 30 minutes, or until sauce is bubbly. Remove from oven. Uncover; sprinkle with remaining  cheese. Let stand 5 minutes before serving. Just before serving, green onions. 3 Chicken Enchiladas for a total of 15 PointsPlus.   Delish!!! 

All Done! YUM! Bueno!

I ate two for a total of 10 PP.

The time it took to prepare these enchiladas was worth every single bite.

You know they are calling your name.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Laurie Cat says:

    Will you marry me?? Looks delish!!

    1. marbaird says:

      Hahaha. At least someone appreciates my cooking. It was so awesome. I will definitely make it again. Thanks for following my blog! Love ya!

Leave a Reply

