Good Intentions

Today I had good intentions of making a beef dish for dinner.  First, I left the house without taking the beef out of the freezer and into the fridge to thaw.  I figured I could get out of the office early enough to swing by the grocery store to pick up a few ingredients, including the beef.  Unfortunately, I got out of the office later than expected.  When I walked out of the building it was downpouring so hard.  Then my normal 7 minute commute home took 30 minutes.  So my good dinner intentions went down the drain.

I decided to try to perfect my veggie egg rolls from last week.  This time, I added the sesame ginger dressing to the veggie mix to give it more zip. I also brushed them in an egg white wash instead of spraying them with Pam.   3 egg rolls for 4 PP.

Then I attempted strawberry tarts with the Nasoya egg roll wrappers.  Tasty little treats but I need to perfect the “look”.  I put the wrapper into a muffin tin, sprinkled cinnamon, used an egg white wash (from earlier), and baked them.  I added a warm layer of sugar-free strawberry jam mixed with vanilla extract to the bottom of the “tart”, added the fresh strawberries, then “glazed” them with more of the jam-vanilla mixture.  Some day soon, when I can get them to look prettier, or when Danica or Tracy come over to “bail” me out, I will show you a picture of the final product.

After that attempt I had two wrappers left.  I sprinkled them with cinnamon, and cut them into triangles.  I sprayed them with Pam and baked them.  45 triangles for 4 PP

So of course I must leave you with…

If at first you don’t succeed, try try again.

Leave a Reply

