Picadillo

I was recipe surfing when I came across this ground beef recipe .  I was intrigued because I had never heard of this recipe before.  I decided that I would  try to modify it.  Here is my lighter version of this Cuban Classic!

Picadillo (6 PP) per serving

Recipe serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1 lb 93% lean ground beef
  • 6 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 chopped bell pepper
  • 1 4 oz can tomato sauce
  • 1/2 cup red wine
  • salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • parsley

 

Ingredients

Directions

brown beef; drain
saute onion, bell pepper and garlic  until translucent
add tomato sauce, wine, salt and red pepper flakes, parsley

lower heat and simmer for 20-30mins

serve with rice or on a bed of lettuce, or with warm corn tortillas or even lavosh bread, just remember to add the additional PP

I am enjoying experimenting with different recipes.  Including ones I have never attempted in the past.  In this recipe I actually threw in some leftover rice….

Picadillo

Thank you to all my followers.  It’s because of you that I am inspired.  Feel free to comment and provide any feedback or suggest a recipe for me to feature.

To keep you motivated the words of wisdom for this evening comes from one of my hubby’s favorite motivator’s.

People often say that motivation doesn’t last. Well, neither does bathing – that’s why we recommend it daily. ~ Zig Ziglar

Leave a Reply

