Not Everyone Wants Corned Beef With Their Cabbage

The other day I wrote about how I was recipe surfing and  found my Picadillo recipe. Todays recipe is also from surfing the net.  I know, I know, it’s St. Patrick’s day, and I am not that fond of corned beef anyway.  So I found a recipe that at least has cabbage instead. 

Also, for some reason, I have been fixated on Asian cuisine.  This leads me to today’s recipe.

Szechuan Meatballs

1 serving is 3 to 4 meatballs (about 4 PP) My disclaimer is the size of your meatballs.  3 oz of lean beef is 3 PP.  Mine weighed in at 1.2 oz each.

Here is my version:

Ingredients

  • 1 pound 93%-lean ground beef
  • 2 teaspoons plus 1 tablespoon Wondra, divided
  • 1/2 teaspoon Chinese five-spice seasoning
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup reduced-sodium beef broth
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/8 teaspoon crushed red pepper
  • 1/4 cup Szechuan sauce
  • 4 cups shredded cabbage
  • 1 cup chopped mushrooms
  • Chives chopped

Ingredients

Directions

Preheat oven to 325

Gently mix beef, 2 teaspoons Wondra, five-spice seasoning and salt in a medium bowl until combined. Shape the mixture into 12 balls. Place meatballs on a baking sheet that has been sprayed with non stick spray.  Bake about 20 minutes

Whisk broth and the remaining 1 tablespoon Wondra in a small bowl until smooth.

Add 2 teaspoons oil to a pan. Add garlic and crushed red pepper and cook, stirring, until fragrant, 15 to 30 seconds. Add the broth mixture, Szechuan sauce, cabbage and mushrooms; cook, stirring, until the cabbage is just wilted, about 2 minutes. Reduce heat to a simmer, place the cooked meatballs in the pan, cover and simmer until the sauce is thickened, 5 to 8 minutes. Serve with  chopped chives.

Szechuan Meatballs with Cabbage

Tonight I leave you with this Irish quote:

May you never forget what is worth remembering,

Or remember what is best forgotten

Leave a comment