Now I am South of the Border

It has been raining non-stop today and the wind isn’t helping the situation.  I wish I was sipping on a Margarita, South of the Border.  That leads me to todays recipe.

Taco Salad My Way

7 PP per serving

Serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1 lb lean ground beef, 93/7
  • 1 tablespoon taco seasoning
  • ½ cup water for the taco seasoning
  • 2 cups shredded lettuce
  • 2 cups shredded cabbage
  • ½ cup pico de gallo
  • ½ cup black beans, rinsed
  • ½ cup corn
  • 4 oz lite Mexican blend cheese

Directions

Brown beef in frying pan and drain any excess oil. Add ½ cup water that is mixed with the taco seasoning and simmer for 10 minutes.

In a large bowl combine the cabbage, lettuce, beans, corn, and pico de gallo.

Place the salad mix onto a plate; top 3 oz of beef and 1 oz of cheese on each plate.

I took one sheet of lavash and cut it into triangles, sprinkled sea salt and baked in the oven until crispy to use as my “tortilla” chips. One entire sheet of lavash is only 1 PP.

On a side note, I didn’t use any dressing on this salad because I didn’t have anything on hand. It still was satisfying, but feel free to add your own dressing and let me know what you used.  I will include it with this recipe.

Now it’s time to watch the American Idol results.

Troubles, they may come and go, but good times, they are gold. ~ The Dave Matthews Band

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Cindy says:

    Taco salad is one of my favorites! Now I have a light version. For dressing, I like fresh and easy Chipotle ranch. A little goes a long way. It’s not as thick as traditional ranch and it is loaded with flavor.
    Keep up the good work Marlene,
    Cindy

    1. marbaird says:

      Thanks Cindy. I am going to Fresh & Easy tomorrow and check it out.

  2. Lisa says:

    This looks sooo good. I haven’t made a taco salad in a long time. I think it will be on my table very soon. Everyone likes this and I can stay totally on program. Great suggestion! Thanks Marlene. You are becoming my meal planning Guru.

    1. marbaird says:

      Thanks Lisa. I enjoyed it. The hubby had his the traditional way with taco shells he fried in butter (LOL), Either way, it was enjoyed by both of us.

  3. Annie says:

    This looks and sounds DELISH!!!! I’m going to make this tonight (weigh in tomorrow am!!) to keep me feeling like im cheating on a saturday night but I’m really staying right on track!!! Love your site, thanks!!! 🙂

    1. marbaird says:

      Hi Annie: I am glod you are enjoying my blog and recipes. Good luck at weigh-in. Let me know how they turn out! 🙂

  4. JANINE says:

    I stumbled upon your blog and I love how you end every recipe with an inspirational quote. This taco salad looks delicious. . can’t wait to try it!

    1. marbaird says:

      Thanks Janine. Let me know how it turns out. I try to find ways for people to stay motivated!

Leave a Reply

