Orange Sesame Shrimp

Lately, I have been making my weekly shopping trip to the grocery store on Fridays.  After I have made a vague list of recipes I think I am going to cook in the next five days, I head out to the grocery store.  It actually motivates me and gets me excited about what I am going to create in the kitchen.

This evening I decided on something fishy.  Well not really, but I went with a shrimp dish.  I hope you like my toasted sesame creation.  My idea of fun in the kitchen.

Tonight’s recipe is based on one I saw at Delish.com.

Orange Sesame Shrimp

Serves 6

6 PP for 2 oz of shrimp (about 7)

 Ingredients

  • 2 egg whites
  • 1/8 cup Wondra
  • 1/8 cup sesame seeds
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 lb medium shrimp peeled and deveined
  • ¼ cup canola oil
  • 1 cup orange juice
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • ½ teaspoon Splenda sugar blend
  • Scallions, thinly sliced

 Directions

In a large bowl, whisk together egg whites, wondra, sesame seeds, salt, and pepper. Add shrimp, and toss to coat.

Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat.  Working in batches of 3 or 4, cook shrimp until golden and crisp, 2 to 3 minutes per side. WARNING:  Do not put more than 3 or 4 because you have to work very fast during this process.  THey will burn if you add too many at a time. Transfer to a paper towel-lined plate to drain.

Wipe skillet with a paper towel. Add orange juice, soy sauce, and sugar. Boil over high heat until syrupy and reduced to about 1/3 cup, about 5 minutes. Return shrimp to skillet; add scallions, and cook until heated through and coated with sauce, about 1 minute.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I served mine with rice for additional PP.

 So since it is Friday night, our featured presentation this evening is The Tourist.  Enjoy your weekend.!

“People rarely succeed unless they have fun in what they are doing.” ~ Dale Carnegie

Leave a Reply

