Fire Roasted Chicken Tostadas

It’s always fun to try a new twist to a traditional type of recipe.  I created this Chicken Tostada.  There are a few suggested changes I would make to my current recipe.  Anyway, here it is exactly the way I made it.

Chicken Tostadas

Serves 6

8 PP per tostada

Ingredients

  • 16 oz cooked shredded chicken
  • 14 oz can of fire roasted tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup guacamole
  • 2 tablespoons reduced fat sour cream
  • 2 tablespoons fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 1/4 low fat shredded cheese
  • 1/4 cup pico de gallo
  • 1 cup shredded cabbage
  • corn tostada shells

Directions

Bring the fire roasted tomatoes to a boil and simmer for about 15 minutes. 

Add the cooked shredded chicken and simmer until heated through.  About 1 to 2 minutes.

Meanwhile , in a small bowl mix the guacamole, sour cream and cilantro.

Warm up the tostada in the microwave for about 30 seconds each.

To assemble the tostadas, spread each tostada with the avocado mixture,  top with chicken pico de gallo, cabbage and cheese.

Here is what I learned from making this recipe:

The Old El Paso Tostadas were 4 PP each. Too many points in my opinion.  I rather go back to the soft corn tortilla (2 PP) and bake it in the oven to get it crispy.

Next, I would add the cilantro to the fire roasted tomatoes.  It was too sweet for a Mexican recipe.

Last, I would eliminate the sour cream that I put in the guacamole and make it an option.  It didn’t really add to the guacamole flavor and just added additional points to an already small serving.  I will still hungry after eating one and I thought 8 PP was too much for the serving size. 

On a final note, it tasted great.  I would make it again, with the above-mentioned adjustments and easily eliminate 3 PP from my original recipe. 

So use your imagination in the kitchen.  You never know where it will take you.

“Logic will get you from A to B.  Imagination will take you anywhere.” ~ Einstein

Leave a Reply

