Attune Foods Review, a NEW Giveaway and an Uncle Sam recipe

It’s June first, but here in Northern California, it feels like January.  It’s cold and rainy.  When the weather is cold, it make me want to eat.  I was getting ready to walk into the kitchen, when the doorbell rang.  UPS just delivered my Uncle Sam for me to review.

NOTE:  I was not paid to review this product.  This is my honest opinion of the product.

Wow, what can I say about this product?  Lots.  Let me tell you.  First, I am going to start by listing ALL the ingredients in this box.

Here goes:

  1. Whole Wheat Kernels
  2. Whole flaxseed
  3. Salt
  4. Barley
  5. Malt

Short list! YES!  All ingredients are words I can pronounce and spell too >).

It is also non GMO verified.  What is non GMO, you might ask?  It means that the product has NOT been genetically modified.

Taste:  It has a very crunchy and nutty flavor, which makes this a perfect topping for yogurt, or salads.

You can use this instead of regular bread crumbs, or instead of panko.  This means you can bread your chicken, or pork chop, or even your seafood with this healthy product.

Here is what I whipped up using Uncle Sam as a breading on shrimp.

 Uncle Sam Shrimp Bake

Serves 1

4 PP per serving

9 PP with the rice medley

Ingredients

  •  1 ounce medium shrimp, deveined
  • ¼ cup crushed Uncle Sam
  • 1/8 teaspoon crushed red pepper
  • 1 teaspoon minced onion (dried)
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons Wondra (flour)
  • 1 egg white, whipped

Directions

Preheat oven to 350

Mix the red pepper, salt, onion and crushed Uncle Sam in a shallow bowl.

Dip the shrimp in the egg white, then dredge in the Wondra, then coat with the Uncle Sam mixture.

Bake 10 minutes

You can purchase Uncle Sam’s and other Attune Foods products at stores such as Whole Foods, Trader Joe’s, Wal-Mart, and other grocery stores.  I know that Safeway sells the Attune granola and chocolate bars in the refrigerated dairy section.  Their bars contain probiotics which are great for the digestive system.  (I love them).

Now the only downside, in terms of food value points, aka, pointsplus, is ¾ cup of Uncle Sam is 5 PP.  But if you use it as a topping, or breading, it is well worth the PP value, especially since this is an extremely healthy product.

This will be on top of my great tasting healthy food items in my pantry.

One lucky winner will receive their very own box of Uncle Sam.  Here are the rules:

You must subscribe to my Blog and then come back and comment that you subscribed.  If you already subscribe, then you must make a comment that you already subscribe.

  1. You must “Like” Attune Foods, on Facebook, or tell a friend about Attune Foods, and come back and comment that you did.
  2. You must “Like” Marlenesmantra on Facebook, and comment on this page, that you did.
  3. Tell your friends about this giveaway, or tweet about this giveaway @Marbaird is hosting an Uncle Same Giveaway.  Then come back and comment that you did.

That gives you 4 opportunities to win.  The #giveaway will end on Monday, June 6.  The winner will be announced on Monday evening’s blog post.  Good luck!

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Katherine says:

    I told a friend about Attune!

  2. Elaine says:

    I liked Attune Foods on facebook.

  3. Elaine says:

    I tweeded about the Uncle Sam give away!!

  4. Elaine says:

    I am subscriped on your blog!! (and love it!!)

  5. Elaine says:

    I already liked your page!! :0)

Leave a Reply

