Pasta Carbonara

on

It has been a painfully slow week for me this week.  My family suffered a tragedy and the news has devasted me immensely.  It makes you reevaluate your priorities and what is most important in your lives.  I want to let you all know that I have also re-evaluated my blog these past months.  I have come to the realization that I can’t continue to provide daily recipes.  I am going to be revamping what I post to everyone.

First, I believe, in order to provide everyone with recipes that I cook and love, that it makes better sense to provide around 2 recipes a week.  I will most likely blog every day.  The reason I say that is I am officially announcing that I am over my goal weight.  I need to concentrate on getting back to goal.  Cooking all those amazing meals requires me to have too many BLT’s (Bites, Licks, and Tastes).  I will be going back to weekly WW meetings so that I can get the support I need to get back to goal weight.

With that said, here is my last recipe for this week.

Pasta Carbonara

serves 8

8 PP per serving

Ingredients

  • 4 slices center cut bacon, cooked and chopped
  • 1/2 cup low fat yogurt
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan, divided
  • 1/2 teaspoon coarsely ground black pepper
  • 2 cups frozen peas
  • 1 box (16 oz) pasta
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1/4 cup fresh basil, torn or thinly sliced

Directions

Whisk egg yolks, yogurt, Parmesan and pepper in a bowl until smooth. Place peas in a colander and set it in the sink. Cook pasta in a stockpot as directed on the package; drain pasta over peas to defrost them. Return pasta-pea mixture to stockpot and place over very low heat. Add egg mixture and bacon and toss about 1 minute, until egg mixture evenly coats noodles. Turn off heat, add milk and stir well. Top with basil and reserved Parmesan and serve immediately.

One Comment Add yours

  1. MarLean….I’ve truly enjoyed your recipes but often wondered how you keep up with it all. Thanks so much for taking the time to post your recipes. Sorry for your loss…it is at these times when it does make us reevaluate our lives. Enjoy each day!

Leave a Reply

