Broccoli Slaw

The other day I was shopping at Safeway and I stopped by the deli department to pick up some deli meats.  The deli clerk asked me if I wanted to buy any of their salads.  She had me try the broccoli slaw.  I thought it was fantastic.  She told me all the ingredients and instead of buying the salad that was already made, I purchased all the ingredients and went home and made my own.

Ingredients

3 PP per serving

DSCN1051

          One cup shredded broccoli
  •     a few broccoli florets
  •     1/4 cup diced red onion
  •     2 Tbs Marzetti Simply Dressed coleslaw dressing
  •     A sprinkling of bacon bits, for garnish

Directions

In a medium bowl, mix all the ingredients.   You can add sliced toasted almonds, sunflower seeds, or raisins.  Just make sure to adjust your PP.  2 tablespoons of the Marzetta dressing is 3 PP.

Make this slaw and you won’t even know you are eating broccoli.  It is so satisfying to know that I can recreate something healthy and tasty too.

DSCN1077

Oh, I also wanted to mention that Fitbloggin Nor Cal is having another Meetup in San Francisco at the end of September.  It’s going to start with a breakfast bar.  How cool is that?  If you want to attend, please comment below and I will provide you all the details.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Laurie Catalano says:

    Hey MarLean…..Can’t wait to try this one! I buy that Broccoli salad whenever we are traveling…sounds great!!

  2. missmarisol says:

    This looks delish. I am going to try it.

    I would be interested in attending the meet up. Can anyone go?

    1. Yes, you can attend our meet up. Let me get the details e-mailed over to you. Look forward to having you there and meeting you too. 🙂

      1. missmarisol says:

        Thank you! I think it would be fun to attend & meet you all.

Leave a Reply

